Skip navigation

DON’T LIVE LIKE THE

.

‘I – WISH – I – WERE WEALTHY PEOPLE’

.

Gail Vaz-Oxlade

Toronto Star

March 8, 2016

.

                 Spending beyond your means,

 .

                 Without savings or safety net,

.

                to buy things that impress

 .                       

               is an illusion of wealth

.

I have met a lot of people who spend as if they’re wealthy.

 .

Without savings, an emergency fund or a debt-free balance sheet, they drive fancy cars, eat out three nights a week and have all the newest toys. These are people who spend money creating an illusion to fool...who? Themselves? Their friends? People they dont even really know?

 .

Folks drop big bucks on kitchen renovations. It’s a very pretty kitchen. And when friends come over they comment on the beautiful cabinets, gorgeous appliances and granite countertops. Then the I­ Wish-I-Were-Wealthy people bask in all that admiration.

 .

The thing their visitors don’t know is that at night they toss and turn trying to figure out which minimum payment they’ll make this week.

.

People dress UP. People drive UP. People live UP.

 .

It’s not really their own standards they’re living or driving or dressing up to, it’s the new standards that have been created by living in a world where we can look in at the rich and famous and want what they have.

.

If you aren’t satisfied with the life you can afford -if you aren’t living within your own means -ask yourself what it is this illusion of wealth you’re striving for gives you. Are you striving for oohs and ahhs? Are you trying to make others jealous? If you are compromising your financial well being- building your illusion of wealth on sand that will eventually shift -how will you feel when people come to know your truth?

I’ve heard people say things like, ‘I’d never buy anything off-brand,” or ”I have to take a cruise every year for my sanity,” or ”Kill me dead if you ever see me in those shoes!”

.

Seriously?

.

I have expensive tastes. But never, ever in my life have I let my wants come before my needs. And I’m not just talking about present needs; I wont let my wants come before my future needs either. And I certainly won’t let the wants other people have drive me to spend money on stuff.

.

It may be that the illusion of wealth is most important to those who have a sense they are always beings judged. It’s sad that people feel this way.

.

But folks, it’s a thought! You THINK you’re being judged. You have the ability to replace that thought with this one: I dont need the illusion of wealth because I am wealthy. I dont mean Rockefeller wealthy, I mean rock – solid – foundation wealthy.

 .

Most of the things that make us happy with our lives don’t cost money. And many of the things in our lives that do cost money don’t carry really big price tags.

 .

It is not until we inflate our sense of entitlement, or seek to create the illusion of wealth to impress, that we get into trouble spending more than we have.

 .

Today, move from the idea of illusion to a commitment to reality. Make your life purposeful and worthwhile. Stop spending money you don’t have to buy things you don’t need to impress people who don’t matter.

.

A PERSONAL COMMENT

.

CONFIDENCE

.

MOVING FROM ‘ME’ TO ‘WE’

.

THE MOST EFFECTIVE VALIDATION IS

SELF – VALIDATION

 

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/education-moving-from-me-we-dan-zwicker

.

Dan Zwicker

